Based on the northern outskirts of Sheffield, Oughtibridge is a picturesque village steeped in history with origins dating back to the first part of the 12th Century, when a ford existed in the area over the River Don, managed by a local man named Oughtred.
In around 1150, a bridge was built on the spot and became known as ‘Oughtred’s Bridge’, or ‘Oughty’s Bridge’ (Oughty being Oughtred’s nickname), and the settlement around the bridge took on the same name. The first documented mention of Oughtibridge came in 1161 when one of the signatories of an agreement on the grazing rights of Ecclesfield Priory was ‘Ralph, the son of Oughtred’. The name Ughtinabrigg, meaning Oughtred’s Bridge in Middle English, was used in the document.
Oughtibridge remained an intimate rural hamlet (made up of only five families in 1747) until the latter part of the 18th Century when the industrial revolution brought an expansion to the farming industry in the area. The village’s position within the Don valley meant that the water power of the river could be used to drive machinery.
Throughout the 1800s, industry in Oughtibridge was thriving, with a corn mill, paper mill, tannery and a small brewery amongst the industries present there. The Oughtibridge forge was the main industry in the village and still stands today on Forge Lane as a Grade-II listed building, now renovated into several apartments within a new housing development.
Oughtibridge reached its peak as an industrial centre when Oughty Bridge railway station opened in 1845 on the Sheffield, Ashton-under-Lyne and Manchester Railway.
Contrary to popular belief, the pub’s name, ‘Cock Inn’, doesn’t refer to a cockerel but instead refers to a cock horse, which was a horse that helped to pull heavily laden carts up steep hills.